My 2019 in books : Books 1-10

I have set book goals for myself for the past few years. Crazy goals. I’m talking 150 books per year goals. In 2017 I read 138. In 2018 I read 61. This year I decided to pick a goal that seemed more manageable, a goal that would encourage a healthy ready schedule while simultaneously being attainable. That goal was 52.

I am happy to say that this past week I finished my 52 book goal!

I made some promises to myself when starting this journey. First, I decided that I wasn’t going to hate read anything (I can’t be the only one who hates reads sometimes). Second, I was going to focus on reading what I own. I put myself on a bit of a book buying ban (which I didn’t always stick to).

I’ve found some series that I’ve been able to dive into as well as some stand alone books I just loved.

Originally my plans for the year were to read books alphabetically by month. January was for authors with B last names. February for C authors and so on. As you can see when reading my list below I didn’t quite keep with that plan.

Here are the first 10 books that I read this year…

The Mother In Law Sally Hepworth

started 1.1.19 // finished 1.6.19 // ARC provided by NetGalley

This ARC had everything I love in a book– interesting family dynamics, a mystery and an ending I was not able to predict until I was smack dab in the middle of it. This book put Sally Hepworth on my “must read more of in the future list”.


Running with Scissors Augusten Burroughs

started 12.28.18 // finished 1.12.19

This is one of the most crazy-pants (is that the official term?) books I have ever read in my life. This memoir of Augusten Burroughs will make you laugh, scratch your head in confusion and gasp out loud more than once. After reading I learned of the film adaptation of the same name and made me wonder if it would translate well to the big screen. I can’t say I enjoyed this book enough to want to find out.


Worth the Wait Lori Foster

started 1.6.19 // finished 1.20.19 // ARC provided by NetGalley


The Little Giant of Aberdeen County Tiffany Baker

Started 1.12.19 // finished 1.30.19


I Remember You Cathleen Davitt Bell

Started 1.30.19 // finished 2.1.19

 Sometimes reading books that would generally be considered Teen books there is a little disconnect for me, as I guess is to be expected (pst.. I’m old).  This book I found thoroughly enjoyable and quick to read.


What We Find (Sullivan’s Crossing #1) Robyn Carr

Started 2.1.19 // finished 2.8.19

I’ll preface by saying I thoroughly enjoy a Robyn Carr books series. I’ve read most of her Virgin River series, and she never ceases to suck me in and make me immediately care for the characters. She paints a picture from word one and creates characters worthy of your affection. This is another series I’m all in for.


The Winter Sister Megan Collins

Started 2.11.19 // finished 3.6.19


The Survivor’s Guide to Family Happiness Maddie Dawson

Started 3.6.19 // finished 3.23.19


Tell Me Something Real Calla Devlin

Started 3.23.19 // finished 3.26.19


We’ve Already Gone This Far Patrick Dacey

Started 3.26.19 // finished 3.30.19

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Leave a comment