Bookstagram. #mybooklife

I’m a recent subscriber to the world of Bookstagram and I find it invigorating, interesting and confounding all at once.

When I signed up for an Instagram account that I was dedicating specifically to all things books and book adjacent (shameless plug – username booknerdcred) I didn’t really know what I was getting into.  I love looking at artistic pictures of books, I love scrolling through and seeing book recommendations.  My Amazon wish list has grown a crazy amount since deciding about a month ago that I wanted to share my book life with people.

As much as I love to see well thought out, staged, well lit photos.  I also really like the photos that are basically “I was at the park today and this is what I was reading” or “you know I showed you I was reading xyz yesterday – I’m on chapter 23 today!  How great is that!?!?!”  I love to see peoples book lives.  Which isn’t always lovely (and that’s ok).

Recently in NY (where I live) Spring has decided well… not to spring.  Most days have been gloomy, rainy, cloudy or some mixture of the three.  No great lighting here, but I still read and I still love it.  From the comfort of my bed at 7am on a Sunday or 1am on a Tuesday.

I want to see all the great shots of books.  There are so many people who are more artistic than I will ever be – so I’ll leave that to them.

I’ll continue to share #mybooklife – as not glamorous as it is, join me!

Leave a comment