Making TBR a game…

My TBR list is admittedly ridiculous.  I have about 200 unread physical copies of books and 300+ on the Kindle.  I have started giving my friends number choices.  My Kindle currently has 56 pages of books, 6 books on a page.  I make my friends choose two numbers and the corresponding book is what I read next.  This way my emotions don’t get in the way of it.  I can’t think to myself “oh by I just read a mystery” or “really? A romance?”  I feel like it’s almost foolproof.  Almost.

Under this I read ‘Saving Grace’ (What Doesn’t Kill You, Book #1) by Pamela Fagan Hutchins- which I’d give 2.5 of 5 stars (review below) to and my current read ‘After Her’ by Joyce Maynard which I think might be about to break my heart.

I am focusing on this method to get my TBR list down to manageable.  Wish me luck.

Saving Grace – What Doesn’t Kill You, Book #1

by Pamela Fagan Hutchins

From Goodreads:

Katie Connell is a high-strung attorney whose sloppy drinking habits and stunted love life collide hilariously in a doomed celebrity case in Dallas. When she flees Texas for the Caribbean, Katie escapes professional humiliation, a broken heart, and a wicked Bloody Mary habit, but she trades one set of problems for another when she begins to investigate the suspicious deaths of her parents on the island of St. Marcos. She’s bewitched by the voodoo spirit of an abandoned house in the rainforest and discovers that she’s as much a danger to herself as the island’s bad guys are. As the worst of her worlds collide, Katie drags herself back to the courthouse to defend her new friend Ava, an island local accused of stabbing the senator she’s been sleeping with.

Pamela Fagan Hutchins, a former attorney and native Texan, lived in the U.S. Virgin Islands for nearly ten years. 

There are pieces of this book that made me really really like the main character.  I can appreciate the premise of someone feeling broken and beat down and their need to hit reset on their life.  Who hasn’t had a thought along those lines?  I liked the idea of being enchanted by a house and the spirit within it.  All of these pieces are great parts of a potential story.

I think that there is potential for the characters to pull together (Katie is someone to cheer for) and make this a good series.  It’s debating whether or not the first book gave me enough to go back and revisit this motley crew through two more books and a novella.

To push through or not to push through that is the question.

3 thoughts on “Making TBR a game…

  1. Great post! Keep them coming!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment